2BC: The Well

Discovering God's Purposes Together

Feb. 4 — What Happens When Women Pray?

I have discovered something in my 30+ years of ministry about the prayers of godly women.  God hears those prayers and answers!

There will always be controversy among church groups about the role of women in the church.  Some will use Scripture to say certain things  are allowed or prohibited.  Regardless of the varying opinions, it should be agreed by everyone that from some of the earliest biblical accounts women cry out in prayer to God, are heard, and often have remarkable answered prayers.

Most of the great prayer warriors I have known in my ministry have been women.  Women seem to make the time for extended times of prayer. 

This Sunday our sermon title is “When Women Pray….”  In our preparation this week we will begin looking at what happens when women pray.

I would love to hear from you this week.  Who are the women prayer warriors you know?  Women of God, what is effective in your prayer life?  Have you seen great answers to prayer?  I appreciate all readers, but this week I would like to focus on praying women.

February 4, 2008 - Posted by | Challenge, Christian life, Discipleship, Prayer | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Who are the women prayer warriors you know?

    I hate to give a list because I fear I’d leave someone out. The friends closest to my heart have been prayers for me and my family. They don’t end a phone call of shared concerns without saying, “Let me pray for you before we go”.

    One of these frequently starts conversations with “What’s God been saying to you lately?” And she immediately begins working on her prayer list for me as I stumble through an answer. Because I know she prays for me, I am willing to work on an answer, as hard it is can be to pin-point it at times.

    Women of God, what is effective in your prayer life?

    Walking with God. I used to spent more time in formal sit down prayer than I do now. Actually, I think Bro. Ray has taught me by example how to “pray as you go”.

    Also, time in the word and scripture memory. You can’t have a scripture or verse on your mind without praying about it for you and your family.

    Have you seen great answers to prayer?

    Yes. Yes. Yes. I almost can’t share for fear of any hint of personal glory in it because it has nothing to do with the pray-er and everything to do with the one who is just that faithful to everything to anyone who will pray.

    Comment by "Maggie" | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  2. One of the main prayer warriors in my life is my aunt in TN…and all of her friends that I don’t even know. That may sound strange but let me tell you…these women do some serious prayin’. There are a number of locals that are also on my list…close friends and not so close friends but prayer warriors nontheless. I am so blessed to be surrounded by these “Dangerous Women” and want them all to know that I pray for them too.

    My prayer life is more effective when I pray throughout the day rather than try to set aside specific time. Don’t get me wrong…there are times when I need and must stop and spend extended time in prayer but I feel closest when I converse with my Father many times during the day…even if it’s just a quick one here and there. I have learned that when something and/or someone comes to mind that it is best to lift it/them up in prayer right then. If I try to wait until my “prayer time”…I am more likely to forget to mention.

    I absolutely see answers to prayer EVERY SINGLE DAY. Maggie is so right in saying “it has nothing to do with the pray-er and everything to do with the one who is just that faithful to everything to anyone who will pray.” The answers are there and all we have to do is be willing to open our eyes and realize the answers aren’t always what we want them to be but they are ALWAYS what is best for us.

    Comment by Kim | February 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. I just wanted to tell you that this TOTALLy correlates to what I just wrote about. I think women tug on God’s heartstrings. What is it about men that can’t stand to see a woman cry? I think God is the same way. Of course when things shouldn’t be changed He won’t, but He still hears and listens and gives comfort.

    Thank you for your article. I loved it. God led me here, I’m sure, to validate my thoughts on this tonight.

    You can check out mine at:
    onjoyhappinessandsam.wordpress.com

    Comment by Kellie | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  4. I have read this blog several times, started to reply, then would exit out. For me personally, I am shy, almost backwards sometimes, I get in a group and become very quiet, but my heart prays. A major breakthrough for me was once it clicked that prayer is relational. I can talk one-on-one to God – whatever I want to say; it isn’t flowery; it isn’t legalistic; it isn’t memorized words—–it is just God and me talking to each other. Many prayers have been answered by the faithfulness of friends praying, choir praying, sunday school praying, churches praying. It has nothing to do with me, but with the ripple effect of the faithfulness of pray-ers. It is awesome and it all begins with just one word: God – – – – – – – – – – and then He listens.

    So, any of you who have that shyness, know that God hears your prayers, whether said outloud or from your heart and know He answers us all.

    Comment by Kimberly | February 5, 2008 | Reply

  5. Two women emailed to tell me they’d seen the weather and woke several times through the night praying for us here from other states, not even related. Perhaps it is the tender compassion of women, their emotional ties, those hormones even women often make fun of, that help them remember pray when it’s needed? I like to think there is redeeming value for them anyway!

    Comment by "Maggie" | February 9, 2008 | Reply

  6. it’s great knowing that God answers women. I sometimes think it is because of we are feminine but i’m quite sure it is because he loves us and give us all things we asked for in prayer in his own time.
    I’m on the still on the track simply because of the prayers of some friends. I know i can’t do it alone especially at that moment that i’m discouraged when answers to my prayer seems delayed.

    Comment by Dorcas | July 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

